THE WHITTLER IS NEARING COMPLETION OF HIS WORK. Click, on anything red.

21 Jan

The Whittler; cloaked, in a weathered aged drabby London Fog rain coat with a faded fedora hat and black ankle string tied military boots is sitting on the stoop of the building next door.  Whittling, as if he were removing individual people from my life with every long slice of his knife.

At first, I did not notice him for he was whittling with a long slicing / slitting of strokes of his knife.

For, I was a young person who is busy with life’s daily newness of exploration my horizons and activities of life; like school, friends and adventure.  So, I hardly notices him and the people; individuals being removed by death from my life by his whittling.

For only if the person was a close relative; aunt, uncle, grandfather or relative does it concern me and then again there is life to be explored not; that, that is an excuse.

I did not realize other persons being removed from my life; for it is at a slow rate that the Whittler’s work is being done with these people having been removed from my live.

For, I am now in my Twenties – Thirty  and Forties and the ‘Whittlers’ is carving; nearly in slow motion and in silence obscurity as he sits on the stoop of the building next door doing his deed.

It is not until lately at ages Fifty and Sixty; that, I have noticed the Whittler’s shaving are more rapidly amassing at the bottom near ground level and are almost encompassing his feet.

And, that the shaving and slivers of pieces of wood are more visible; and the piece of wood he is whittling upon; has become shorter from a mighty oak to a staff to a stick.  And, that his pace has become more quickened in repetitiveness; as pieces of the stick, like people are whittled out of my existence never to be seen again.

And now for myself at age sixty-four (64); I  to have quickened and have become more acute to the things I have ignored and must finish.

All awhile noticing the ever increasing quickness and repetitiveness of his carving; slicing’s of pieces of wood individuals from my life never to be seen again.

And as the reminisces of his whittling work begin to fall covering obscuring his feet and individuals disappear not to be seen no more for ever.  Who, knows; how much longer it will take the Whittler to complete his work; and, than I shall fall as one of his wooden shaving to the bottom of his feet; and, never to be seen or heard again.

__________________________________________________________

MOVIE RECOMMENDATION:  ” In America ” 2002 “, Director Jim Sheridan.   Five (5) stars; good for family.
One Response to “THE WHITTLER IS NEARING COMPLETION OF HIS WORK. Click, on anything red.”

Leave a Reply

