“NO CHILD LEFT BEHIND” 1969 – 1973 Edition. Click, on anything red, white or blue.

17 Nov

Those, years were 1969 through 1973; at the time, ninth grade was completed at an entirely different School, Webster School in Auburn, Maine and I was now attending Edward Little High School, Auburn Heights, Auburn, Maine.

It became a  banner years for me as I entered the start of my Junior year; and, completed my Sophomore year at Edward Little High School; just keeping up with the curriculum, with not too much going for me and then I was elected to the position of Junior Class President; in my Senior year; I was elected as Senior Class President, President of the Student Senate, winner of the Daughter of the American Revolution “Good Citizen Award”, Delegate to Maine Dirigo Boy State, President of the Young Republicans and President of the Sacred Heart Parish Auburn, Maine; Christian Youth Organization and selected to the Interact Club all this at a prominent academic school.

At the time, the Vietnam War was raging and of the 27 million draft age young men between 1968 and 1973, 40 % were drafted into military service, and only 10 % were actually sent to Vietnam.  This group was made up almost entirely of either work-class or rural youth.  Combat deaths were over 45 thousand by 1973.

There, were a lot of others who were not as fortunate as I;  who’s spirit was left behind in the Jungles of Vietnam (41 thousand); in, a Military Police Action and who were lost; but, are never forgotten; as,  the years go on.

It was not for some years; that, I understood a phase that Mr. Alfred Salviagno, Principal of Edward Little High School, Auburn, Maine had stated to me; “YOU DO NOT KNOW WHAT WE HAVE DONE FOR YOU”.

The others were Assistant Principal, Class Adviser Mr. Wallace A. Laehy and Guidance Councilor Mr. Carsley, office staff and councilor / teachers.

You see,  I had been to six (6) schools prior to Edward Little High School and had been late to start first grade due to my birthday being in March.  Then, there was the fact; I had been left behind / back twice (2) once in the first grade; and, another time in the third grade.

The facts were that I was twenty (20) years old; when, I graduated from Edward Little High School and that when I register for the draft at the Lewiston, Maine Post Office at the age of 18 years of age; I, could have been drafted at anytime.

Can you see; that, by allowing me to remain in school at the age of eighteen (18) to twenty (20) years of age and not allowing; my, drafting into the service of the United States Police Action in Vietnam; and, these WWII War Veterans allowing me to graduate from Edward Little High School, Auburn, Maine at TWENTY (20) years of age possibly saved my life ?

They, allowed me to be; and, I was the first (1): “no child left behind”.  These MENTORS and TEACHERS were saving my life.

I volunteered; and, left in December of 1973 with Orders from the Department of Defense stating, ” Needs of the Service come First “; with, my sister’s crying and mother showing a stern resolves.

I served honorably as my father did in Korea and World War 2 and thought of it as an obligation and right of passage as a citizen of the Great Country; winning, Military Citations Awards and 5 promotions in three year; until, 1979 and now receive a compensation of $1075.00 dollars a month from the Veteran Administration with Medical; which, I am  “grateful for”, at the age of 64 year old from a grateful Nation who did not forget me; you, the American Citizen.

GOD BLESS YOU; MY BROTHERS IN ARMS; MENTORS and TEACHERS and YOU THE CITIZEN OF AMERICA.   I, hope; this humble person; naive in youth; am, worthy of your sacrifice.

One Response to ““NO CHILD LEFT BEHIND” 1969 – 1973 Edition. Click, on anything red, white or blue.”

  1. Reblogged this on soule2017mayor: Lewiston / Auburn News Rebuttal and commented:

    I, COULD; JUST, “CRY”.

Leave a Reply

